Top award gives PPG something to brag about

PPG Industries Fiber Glass Products Inc. of Chester has something to brag about. The fiber glass manufacturing facility was honored as one of the state’s top manufacturers at a luncheon held Tuesday in Columbia. At the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce Manufacturer of the Year Awards Luncheon at the Embassy Suites in Columbia, PPG was honored in its division as the winner of the 2011 S.C. Manufacturers of the Year presented by Nexsen Pruet. PPG Plant Manager Al Reid said PPG was nominated for the honor in 2008 but this is the first time the corporation has captured the top spot. He said 12 companies were represented at the luncheon. PPG was chosen as the top manufacturer in the small company headquartered outside of S.C. division. The division includes manufactures that employ less than 200 people. PPG is headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pa. Reid said he brought home a certificate for participation in the awards program. But the certificate doesn’t hold a candlestick to the trophy that he transported back to the Chester plant. “It will be on display in the office,” Reid said. “We have been looking for an opportunity to celebrate and now we’ve got it,” Reid said. Reid said he was happy to accept the award on behalf of the 140 employees at the Chester plant. “They are the ones who won the award,” Reid said. Reid was accompanied by Chester County Chamber of Commerce President Jim Fuller at the luncheon. The S. C. Manufacturer of the Year program is dedicated to recognizing the accomplishments and contributions of South Carolina manufacturers and culminated with the announcement of four South Carolina Manufacturer of the Year awards in the small, medium and large categories.

In addition to PPG, nominees included AFL of Spartanburg, Ahlstrom Nonwovens LLC of Bethune, A.O. Smith Water Products Co. of McBee, Cox Industries, Inc. of Orangeburg, Domtar Corporation of Fort Mill, ESAB Group Inc. of Florence, Honda of South Carolina Mfg., Inc. of Timmonsville, Meritor of Manning, Pure Power Technologies, LLC of Columbia, Sensor Electronic Technology, Inc. of Columbia and UEC Electronics, LLC of Hanahan. The Manufacturer of the Year awards program showcases the best manufacturing companies in the state that are providing great jobs for South Carolinians and giving back to their communities.

The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the nation’s first state Chamber Accredited with Distinction by the U.S. Chamber, is the state’s largest statewide broad-based business and industry trade association representing more than 18,000 businesses and more than one million employees, with 90 percent of membership comprised of small businesses. As the unified voice for business and industry, the chamber is a catalyst for increasing wealth and enhancing the state’s global competitiveness in order to improve the quality of life for all South Carolinians.

The News & Reporter